Year 8

Curriculum Information

Year 8 Director of Learning: Mr Tom Smee
Contact: t.smee@johnbright.uk

KS3 Head of Behaviour & Safeguarding: Mrs Catherine Beattie
Contact: c.beattie@johnbright.uk

Year 8 Guidance & Support: Mr S Eardley
Contact: s.eardley@johnbright.uk

Year 8 Welcome

Welcome to Year 8, a very important year in your child’s school career. As well as settling further into school life they will begin to think about the subject they wish to study at Key Stage 4 and make important choices about their future. As their Director of Learning for Year 8, I will make sure that they, and you, feel fully informed and supported through the process. In return, all students will need to be prepared for the year, from the first day all the way through to the end of the school year.

Year 8 Form Tutors    
8AJL Mr A. Lemon a.lemon@johnbright.uk
8DRW Mr D. Weale d.weale@johnbright.uk
8DW Mr D. Williams d.williams@johnbright.uk
8GSM Mrs G. Moules g.moules@johnbright.uk
8MJA Mr M. Armstrong m.armstrong@johnbright.uk
8RWJ Mr W. Jones w.jones@johnbright.uk
8SEE Mrs S. Evans
Mrs J. Wells
s.evans@johnbright.uk
j.wells@johnbright.uk

Alternatively you can email Mr Tom Smee, Year 8 Director of Learning at t.smee@johnbright.uk

Attendance

The school has an attendance policy of 95% or above. All medical and dental appointments should be scheduled for outside of school hours. However, if your child is off school for any reason, please contact the attendance officer via the school reception at your earliest convenience and provide us with written evidence for the absence on your child’s return to school.

Key Dates - Year 8  
Parents Evening 10th of November, 2020
AP1 Assessments 4th -15th of January, 2020
Options Evening 26th of January, 2020
Full Report Issued 12th of February, 2020
AP2 Assessment 12th - 23rd of April, 2020
Interim Report Issued 7th of May, 2020
Option Choices Confirmed 11th of June, 2020

KS3 Blog